FCPS names finalists for 2021-22 Student Member of the Board of Education

After forum, online vote will determine who serves next in critical role

Five talented and accomplished Frederick County Public Schools (FCPS) students are in the running to become the next Student Member of the Board of Education of Frederick County. These students have been chosen through a vetting process by the Frederick County Association of Student Councils and advisors of the local Student Government Association.

The five candidates, listed alphabetically by last name, are:

  • Jeanelle Agyem, is a junior at Urbana High. She serves as Secretary of the organization Maryland Youth and Government and is a member of Future Business Leaders of America.
  • Dominic Phillips-Moore, of Frederick High, is a sophomore and President of the Frederick County Association of Student Councils. He’s also on the executive board of his school’s Student Government Association.
  • Quinn Scholtes, attends Oakdale High and is Vice President of the school’s Student Government Association. She’s a junior who also participates in the Rotary Club of Frederick’s Interact service organization.
  • Sam Starrs, of Oakdale High, is a junior and a member of the executive board of Oakdale’s Student Government Association. He’s also captain of the varsity indoor track team.
  • Jacob Winters, a sophomore at Brunswick High, is active in the school’s Student Government Association. He is also a member of the school’s Minority Essence Club.

A virtual candidates’ forum was held on Thursday, January 14, to share their platforms and thoughts. Online voting is open to FCPS middle and high school students to decide the next student board member. They will cast online votes through February 5 using the link tinyurl.com/fcps2021smob.

Mia Martinez, a Brunswick High senior, is the current Student Member of the Board of Education. Her term runs through June 30.

Jim Castle

Posted by: Jim Castle

The community news source for the Brunswick, Maryland area